At its 87th Meetings held on 14th August, 2020 the Board of Trustees of the Economic and Social Research Foundation (ESRF) inter alia appointed Prof. Longinus Kyaruzi Rutasitara to be the new Board Chairperson for the period of three years effective from 16th August, 2020.

    Prof. Rutasitara takes over from the Retired Chief Secretary Mr. Phillemon Luhanjo, whose tenure in office for six years ended on the 15th August, 2020.

    The new Chairperson is the Associate Professor in Economics at the University of Dar es Salaam. Formerly he was the Personal Assistant to the President of the Government of Tanzania (Economic Affairs); also served as Deputy Executive Secretary in the President's Office (Planning Commission) responsible for Macro Economic Policies; Chairperson of the Board of Directors, Tanzania Civil Aviation Authority; and Chairman of the Board of Directors, Tanzania Investment Center (TIC).

    The Board also appointed Dr. Stigmata Chilla Tenga to be the new Vice Chairperson replacing Prof. William Lyakurwa whose tenure also came to an end on 15th August, 2020. Dr. Stigmata Chilla Tenga is the Executive Director, Africa Philanthropy Network (APN); President and Co-Founder of the Foundation for Civil Society in Tanzania; Board Chairperson, South Africa Trust in Johannesburg; and Trustee and Board Chairperson, Vodacom M-Pesa Trust, Africa.

    The new Chairperson and his Vice Chairperson are among 10 members of the Board of Trustees, others are Ms. Dorothy Mwaluko, Permanent Secretary (Policy, Coordination & Investment) Prime Minister’s Office; Mr. Doto James, Permanent Secretary - Ministry of Finance and Planning; Dr. Kenneth Mdadila, Lecturer in Economics at the University of Dar es Salaam; Dr. Nyamajeje Weggoro, Former Executive Director of the East African Constituency of the African Development Bank based in Abidjan, Ivory Coast representing eight East African countries of Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Seychelles and South Sudan; and Director, Productive and Social Sectors (East African Community); Ambassador Brig. General Wilbert Ibuge, Permanent Secretary - Ministry of Foreign Affairs and East African Cooperation; Mr. Abdulmajid Nsekela, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director at CRDB Bank PLC; Mr. Charles Singili, Managing Director TIB Development Bank; and Mrs. Lilian Liundi, Executive Director, Tanzania Gender Networking Programme (TGNP).

    Last updated on 2020-08-20

ESRFs activities are supported by the Government of the United Republic of Tanzania, United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), African Capacity Building Foundation (ACBF) and International Development Research Centre (IDRC)